Nativity...Yesu Fɔmɔ! Nativity...Nyɔŋmɔ Dromɔ Sɔŋŋ!

Ga Presbytery

Rev. Victor Okoe Abbey

Ga Presbytery Chairperson

Rev. Solomon Nii Mensah Adjei

Clerk of Ga Presbytery

The Ga Presbytery of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana traces its origin to the Ga-Adangme Presbytery. By a Synod resolution in 1971, the Ga-Adangme Presbytery was split into two (2), namely, the Ga Presbytery and Dangme-Tongu Presbytery, to facilitate evangelism and ensure more efficient administration. The Ga-Adangme Presbytery had existed for fifty (50) years, being one of the original five (5) Presbyteries created by Synod in 1922. The newly created Presbytery was inaugurated in 1972. It comprised nine (9) Districts, namely Teshie, Kaneshie, Abokobi, Adabraka, Labadi, Osu, Nungua, Tema and Accra Central. Presently, there are twenty-four (24) Districts with one (1) Mission Field administered directly by the Presbytery.

The Ga Presbytery is located in the Greater Accra Region, an area originally occupied by the ethnic group known as the Gas based on which the Presbytery was named. This part of the Greater Accra Region has become increasingly cosmopolitan since the 1960’s making the Ga Presbytery the most ethnically diverse in the Presbyterian Church of Ghana (PCG).

The first Chairman of the Presbytery, Rev. E.A. Adjei elected in 1972, combined the functions of the office with those of a District Minister. So also did the Clerk of Presbytery, Rev. J.E. Svanikier. This arrangement continued for over ten (10) years until a decision was taken to detach the position of Chairman from congregational duties. That decision necessitated the provision of a manse for the Chairman as well as office facilities for the Presbytery. These facilities are sited at Osu Kuku-Hill (Jubilee House).


  1. Abokobi
  2. Accra Central
  3. Accra New Town
  4. Adabraka
  5. Adentan
  6. Ashaiman
  7. Ashaley Botwe
  8. Dzorwulu
  9. Fafraha
  10. Ga Mission Field
  11. Haatso
  12. Kaajaano
  13. La
  14. Madina District
  15. Nima
  16. Nungua
  17. Osu
  18. Oyibi
  19. Sakumono
  20. Taifa
  21. Tema Comm. 1
  22. Tema Comm. 2
  23. Tema Manhean
  24. Tema North
  25. Teshie


Credit: Ga Presbytery